氣道

異物可能阻塞於聲門上、聲門中或者聲門下。

誤嗆會引起劇烈咳嗽,最少會持續一分鐘。

通常情況下,異物會一路向下從氣管進入支氣管。

Supraglottic Larynx

聲門上方的異物

異物很少阻塞於聲門上。例子有聖誕樹的裝飾物或者魚鉤會卡在這裡。患者在吸氣時會有異響、聲嘶和吞嚥疼痛。

Transglottic Larynx

聲門區的異物

尖銳片狀的物體,例如塑料貼紙,鉛筆屑或者蛋殼可能會卡在聲門區,引起局部炎症。患者常常有嚴重的聲嘶,吸氣和呼氣時均有異響,犬吠樣的咳嗽。有時會誤診為哮喘。

لحم الخنزير المقدد في القصبة الهوائية

氣管

異物很少停留在氣管,例如小片的培根或者玻璃球可能會形成氣管異物。患者常常有低調的呼吸異響聲,多發生於呼氣時。玻璃球或者其他大點的異物可能導致呼吸窘迫。

(AP) اشعة اكس بي بي كريات صغيرة في القصبة الهوائية

支氣管

多數呼吸道異物停留在支氣管(同常在右側)。例子有乾果,水果或者蔬菜乾,塑料玩具零件、別針或者圖釘等。在最初的咳嗽之後,患者可能感覺好轉,但之後會發展成高調的喘鳴聲,大約一周之後,會發生肺炎。千萬不要和哮喘混淆。

你知道嗎?!

2013年的一份報告稱,2001-2009年間,美國平均每年12435例兒童(14歲以下)因食物相關性阻塞在急診室就診。[Ref:1]

Airway

An inhaled object may become stuck above, between or below the vocal cords.

This causes a violent coughing fit, that lasts at least one minute.

Most commonly, the object flies all the way down the windpipe (trachea), into the bronchi.

Supraglottic Larynx

Foreign bodies stuck just above the vocal cords are very rare. Examples include the hardware from a Christmas tree ornament or a fish hook. Patients typically have noise when breathing inward, a muffled voice and pain when swallowing.

Transglottic Larynx

Thin, sharp objects, such as plastic stickers, pencil shavings or eggshells may become stuck between the vocal cords and create inflammatory tissue. Patients typically have severe hoarseness, noise when breathing both in and out and a “barking” cough. Sometimes misdiagnosed as croup.

Trachea

Foreign bodies very rarely lodge in the trachea. Examples include pieces of bacon or wood or even a marble. Patients typically have low-pitched noises; usually more when breathing out than when breathing in. A marble or other large object in the trachea would cause major respiratory distress.

Bronchi

Most airway foreign bodies lodge in the bronchi (usually on the right). Examples include nuts, crispy fruit or vegetables, plastic toy parts, pins and thumbtacks. After initial an coughing fit, the patient feels better, but then develops a high-pitched “wheeze”, and about a week later, pneumonia. Not to be confused with asthma!

Did You Know?!

In Europe, one in 5 childhood choking injuries involve industrial products, such as plastic and metal parts, coins, and toys.[Ref:1476]