关于

1923年, Chevalier Jackson医生在《海吉亚》(一本家庭健康杂志,作为教学题材广泛用于学校教育)上撰文《你的孩子把什么放在了嘴里?》。Jackson医生的文章是早期教育家长和看护人关于异物窒息预防的尝试。4年后,也即1927年,在不断的游说下,美国国会通过了联邦中毒标签法,Jackson医生终于看到数十年的工作成果。

至此,异物窒息引起世界范围内公众的广泛关注,异物窒息相关的医疗措施也进一步发展,包括消化道和呼吸道异物的诊断和处理。异物窒息的发病率和死亡率有所下降,但并没有消除。

今天,那些孩子从异物窒息事件中康复的父母们,绝大多数会告诉你,他们之前完全没有异物可能引起窒息的任何知识。相反,有一些家庭却把异物窒息的知识牢牢铭记,通常在这些家庭中,长者曾有过窒息的经历并将相关的知识口传给下一代。

近几十年,关于降低异物窒息的发病率的相关研究仅有两个,分别在以色列和克里特岛开展的,医学专家在教育中心(如医院和当地的卫生机构)向公众讲授异物窒息的真实故事,以及相关的治疗、康复和预防。[Ref:1106][Ref:1107][Ref:1053][Ref:1008]

近期发现,在正确的监管下,即使十岁的孩子也能掌握基本的异物窒息的病理生理知识和预防手段(不论是通过健康专家还是电子媒体学习)。[Ref:1378] 自2007年以来,北美至少有6名青少年(最小的只有7岁)曾用哈姆尼克手法拯救过他人的生命。请看异物窒息的新闻。

学校里面,消防员会常规教授孩子们防火知识。异物窒息的发生率和死亡率同火灾一样高发,很不幸的是,耳鼻喉科医生却不能和消防员一样讲授异物窒息的相关知识。

该网站为在校学生和成人提供相关的教育资源。借用本杰明.富兰克林的话说,希望一盎司的预防知识胜过一磅的治疗效果。

你知道吗?!

欧盟国家,每年大约50000例(14岁以下)儿童曾发生误吸。[Ref:1476]

参考文献

About

In 1923, Dr. Chevalier Jackson published “What Does Your Baby Put in His Mouth?” in Hygeia (a new “family health magazine,” which became often used by teachers in schools). Dr. Jackson’s article was an earnest attempt to inform care providers about choking hazards and choking prevention. Four years later, in 1927, Dr. Jackson saw the fruition of decades of work, lobbying the United States Congress, when it finally passed the Federal Caustic Poisoning Act.

Since then, much as has been done, around the world, to increase public awareness about choking hazards and improve the safety of consumer goods (as well as the diagnosis and treatment of aerodigestive foreign bodies); thus reducing, but not nearly eliminating, the morbidity and mortality of choking.

Today, most parents whose children have recovered from a choking episode state that they had “no idea” that the foreign body was a potential choking hazard. In contrast, some families have choking prevention strategies deeply embedded in their culture and daily routines — usually because an older family member lived to tell about their own choking incident.

In recent decades, the only two public health studies that showed clear benefit, in terms of reducing the incidence of choking, were conducted in Israel and in Crete. In both studies, educational strategies shared certain characteristics: Medical professions told real-life stories about choking injuries and treatment, as well as prevention strategies, in person, to entire families at public education centers (schools and local health units).[Ref:1106][Ref:1107][Ref:1053][Ref:1008]

More recently it has been discovered that under proper supervision, children as young as ten years are able to grasp basic principles about choking patho-physiology and prevention (whether that education is conducted by a health professional, in person, or electronically).[Ref:1378] Furthermore, since 2007, at least 6 preteens in North American (as young as seven years old) have been reported to have saved another person’s life by using the Heimlich maneuver. Please see Choking in the News.

Firefighters have sufficient resources to regularly teach fire safety, in person, to children in schools. Sadly, choking accidents cause at least as much pediatric morbidity and mortality as fires; however, Otolaryngologists (Ears, Nose and Throat specialists) can not match firefighters in manpower.

This website is an earnest attempt to provide a similar (but potentially global) educational service for children in schools and for the adults who care for them. To borrow from Benjamin Franklin, hopefully an ounce of choking prevention will become a pound of cure.

Did You Know?!

For every choking-related death, an estimated 110 children are treated in hospital emergency departments for non-fatal choking.[Ref:1674]

References