حول

في عام 1923، نشر د. شيفالييه جاكسون ” ماذا يضع طفلك في فمه؟” في مجلة هايجييا ( مجلة جديدة عن “صحة الأسرة” ، التي استخدمها المعلمون كثيرا في المدارس). كانت مقالة الدكتور جاكسون محاولة جادة لإبلاغ مقدمي الرعاية حول أخطار الاختناق والوقاية منه. بعد أربع سنوات، في عام 1927، رأى الدكتور جاكسون ثمرة عقود من العمل، تضغط على الكونغرس الأمريكي، عندما مرر أخيرا قانون وضع التيكيت الكاوي والمسمم.

منذ ذلك الحين، تم القيام بالكثير مثل هذا، في مختلف أنحاء العالم، لزيادة الوعي العام حول مخاطر الاختناق وتحسين سلامة السلع الاستهلاكية (وكذلك التشخيص والعلاج من الأجسام الغريبة) وبالتالي تقليل، ولكن تقريبا ليس القضاء على ، معدلات الاعتلال والوفيات من الاختناق.

اليوم، معظم الآباء والأمهات الذين قد تعافى أطفالهم من حالة الاختناق، ليس لديهم ” أي فكرة” أن الجسم الغريب كان خطر محتمل للاختناق. في المقابل، بعض العائلات والاختناق استراتيجيات الوقاية متأصلة بعمق في الثقافة والروتين اليومي، عادة بسبب أن أحد أفراد العائلة الأكبر سنا عاش ليقول حادث الاختناق الخاص به.

في العقود الأخيرة، أجريت دراستان الصحة العامة الوحيدتان التي أظهرت فائدة واضحة، من حيث الحد من حالات الاختناق ، في القدس وفي جزيرة كريت. في كلتا الدراستين، تقاسمت الاستراتيجيات التعليمية خصائص معينة: قال المهنيون الطبيون قصص من واقع الحياة عن الإصابات بالاختناق والعلاج، فضلا عن استراتيجيات الوقاية، شخصيا لعائلات بأكملها في مراكز التعليم العامة (المدارس والوحدات الصحية المحلية).[Ref:1106][Ref:1107][Ref:1053][Ref:1008]

وفي الآونة الأخيرة تم اكتشاف أنه تحت الإشراف المناسب، يكون الأطفال الذين لا تتجاوز أعمارهم عشر سنوات قادرون على فهم المبادئ الأساسية حول الفيزيولوجيا المرضية للاختناق والوقاية (سواء كان التعليم بواسطة مهنيين في الصحة، شخصيا أو إلكترونيا).[Ref:1378] وعلاوة على ذلك، منذ عام 2007، تم الإبلاغ عن أن ما لا يقل عن 6 في سن قبل المراهقة في أمريكا الشمالية (لا تتجاوز أعمارهم سبع سنوات) قد أنقذ حياة شخص آخر باستخدام مناورة هيمليك Heimlich. يرجى الإطلاع على الاختناق في الأخبار.

رجال الإطفاء لديهم موارد كافية لتعليم السلامة من الحريق بانتظام ، شخصيا، للأطفال في المدارس. للأسف، تسبب حوادث الاختناق على الأقل الكثير من الأمراض ووفيات الأطفال مثل الحرائق. مع ذلك لا يمكن أن يطابق طَبِيبُ الأذُنِ والأَنْفِ والحَنْجَرَة (أخصائي الأنف والأذن والحنجرة) رجال الإطفاء في القوى العاملة.

هذا الموقع هو محاولة جادة لتقديم خدمة تعليمية مماثلة (ولكن يحتمل أن تكون عالمية) للأطفال في المدارس وللبالغين الذين يهتمون بهم. للاقتراض من بنيامين فرانكلين، نأمل أن درهم الوقاية من الاختناق سيصبح من قنطار علاج.

هل تعلم؟!

الاختناق والخنق هما مسئولين عن الإصابات غير المتعمدة التي تحدث للأطفال الرضع في العمر الأول من حياتهم وبنسبة 40% في كندا.[Ref:512]

المراجع

About

In 1923, Dr. Chevalier Jackson published “What Does Your Baby Put in His Mouth?” in Hygeia (a new “family health magazine,” which became often used by teachers in schools). Dr. Jackson’s article was an earnest attempt to inform care providers about choking hazards and choking prevention. Four years later, in 1927, Dr. Jackson saw the fruition of decades of work, lobbying the United States Congress, when it finally passed the Federal Caustic Poisoning Act.

Since then, much as has been done, around the world, to increase public awareness about choking hazards and improve the safety of consumer goods (as well as the diagnosis and treatment of aerodigestive foreign bodies); thus reducing, but not nearly eliminating, the morbidity and mortality of choking.

Today, most parents whose children have recovered from a choking episode state that they had “no idea” that the foreign body was a potential choking hazard. In contrast, some families have choking prevention strategies deeply embedded in their culture and daily routines — usually because an older family member lived to tell about their own choking incident.

In recent decades, the only two public health studies that showed clear benefit, in terms of reducing the incidence of choking, were conducted in Israel and in Crete. In both studies, educational strategies shared certain characteristics: Medical professions told real-life stories about choking injuries and treatment, as well as prevention strategies, in person, to entire families at public education centers (schools and local health units).[Ref:1106][Ref:1107][Ref:1053][Ref:1008]

More recently it has been discovered that under proper supervision, children as young as ten years are able to grasp basic principles about choking patho-physiology and prevention (whether that education is conducted by a health professional, in person, or electronically).[Ref:1378] Furthermore, since 2007, at least 6 preteens in North American (as young as seven years old) have been reported to have saved another person’s life by using the Heimlich maneuver. Please see Choking in the News.

Firefighters have sufficient resources to regularly teach fire safety, in person, to children in schools. Sadly, choking accidents cause at least as much pediatric morbidity and mortality as fires; however, Otolaryngologists (Ears, Nose and Throat specialists) can not match firefighters in manpower.

This website is an earnest attempt to provide a similar (but potentially global) educational service for children in schools and for the adults who care for them. To borrow from Benjamin Franklin, hopefully an ounce of choking prevention will become a pound of cure.

Did You Know?!

For every choking-related death, an estimated 110 children are treated in hospital emergency departments for non-fatal choking.[Ref:1674]

References