我們的合作夥伴

“小心,別嗆著”網站恆榮幸能與若干非凡的組織合作夥伴。

皇家醫師與外科醫生學院(加拿大)

加​​拿大皇家醫師與外科醫生學院是加拿大專科護理之家。我們為醫學畢業生的醫學教育設置標準,支持4.7萬專科醫師、外科醫生和住院醫師的專業發展,并參與全國醫療系統的創新。

我們的使命是領先醫學教育,專業標準,醫生的能力和醫療系統的不斷提高,以改善加拿大居民的健康和保健。

聖約翰救傷隊

聖約翰救傷隊是一個慈善機構和國際人道主義組織,致力於幫助加拿大居民改善他們的健康,安全和生活質量。

自1883年以來,聖約翰救傷隊已是加拿大急救和心肺復甦術服務的標準。我們精益求精,提供創新的項目和產品為在工作,家庭、生活和遊戲中急救。在加拿大英屬哥倫比亞省和育空地區,聖約翰救傷隊擁有超過1200名志願者。他們通如過緊急醫療、青年方案和治療狗的服務方案,每年貢獻超過240000小時無償社區服務。聖約翰救護機構是社會不可缺少的成員。

英屬哥倫比亞省損傷研究與預防單位(BCIRPU)

BCIRPU作為一個省級“中心”為利益相關者提供基於研究的領導和協作,以減少任何年齡段的英屬哥倫比亞省人因受傷而帶來的社會和經濟負擔。

位於加拿大英屬哥倫比亞省兒童醫院,BCIRPU是 “科研領導兒童與家庭創新”研究所內的一項核心研究計劃。 BCIRPU也作為一個培訓中心,因為部分職員也是英屬哥倫比亞大學的教師。 BCIRPU被建立為戰略性實體,它把研究和科學證據的必要與最佳實踐以及政策和方案制訂融合,以減少在英屬哥倫比亞省發生的創傷事故。

主要目標包括:

  • 減少受傷創事故給英屬哥倫比亞省帶來的負擔。
  • 領先研究和知識的發展。
  • 提高監視。
  • 指導有科學依據的預防措施。
  • 支持專業人士和醫學從業者。
  • 提供傷創事故的意識,教育和公共資訊。

Susy安全企劃(Susy Safe)

Susy安全企劃是一個食品和非食品異物插入,吸入或食入的監視註冊表(對應於國際疾病分類ICD-9 930-939)。目前,它已收集超過25,000的案件。

Susy安全企劃註冊表的主要目標是:

  • 指定產品造成傷害的可能性(為了發展一個監控系統通,並且可以用它來標識出不合適的產品設計和包裝、保證消費者的安全、提供有關危險產品的風險對比收益的數據,如此可以衡量可接受風險與產品下架的經濟影響);
  • 分析不同的社會地位和經濟差距是怎麼樣影響異物受傷的風險;
  • 讓利益相關者參與數據收集和安全監控。

Susy安全企劃註冊表內收集的案件都是匿名的,並是由醫師,ORL專家,肺病專家在網上標準化報導。對於每一個報道,我們收集了:兒童的特點、受傷的情況、異物的特徵、還有傷害和住院的特點。

觀察到異物損傷事件的父母,家庭成員或兒童護理員也會被邀請填寫消費者版異物損傷報告調查(這只需要幾分鐘)。這樣提高了登記冊的完整性並且近一步防止此類傷害。

SafeFood4Children(兒童食品安全組織)

Susy安全企劃註冊表的數據顯示,食品是造成人員受傷最多異物。特別因骨頭、堅果、種子和穀物引起的病率最高(分別佔32%,22%和21%),但那些造成最嚴重的傷害則是肉食、甜食等有同樣特性的食品類(濃度,形狀,尺寸)。此外,大約一半異物造成的創傷事件是有成人在場時發生,告訴我們成人缺乏對危害食品的知識。

該項目包括一系列的費提供的視頻短片。每個視頻都與兒童食物嗆傷有關,並設有特定主題,例如:流行病學調查、兒童的生理結構、梗阻的機制和如何準備食物。按照美國和加拿大國家對食物準備的指導方針,我們的視頻提供基礎資料,以明確和盡可能地用最簡單的語言解釋如何準備有窒息風險的食物:用簡單的措施,即使是最危險的食品可以安全地被兒童食用。

沒一個主題都由專業人士介紹,例如:生物統計學教授,流行病學教授、耳鼻喉科醫生、兒科醫生、研究人員和專業大廚。此外,有不同種族和社會背景的人(大多為幼兒的家長)自願參加的視頻的錄製。當下,這些視頻的語言為英語,義大利語,西班牙語和義大利手語可用。為了盡可能多的人看懂,葡萄牙語、法語、阿拉伯語、俄語、中文和日文的視頻將在未來來到。

YNOTFORTOTS (幫助兒童,何樂不為)

YNOTFORTOTS是位於卑試省,溫哥華市的一個非盈利性組織。我們的目標為給所有的孩子提供最好的玩耍、學習和成長的機會。卑試省有著加拿大最高的兒童貧困率,5名孩子中就有一名貧困的孩子。我們的目標是在這些孩子的生活產生好的影響。

我們獨特的註冊和捐贈結構確保所有捐贈物品會被直接送給最需要援助的孩子們。學校和家長可以要求物資援助,而我們將他們的請求增加到我們的在線項目註冊表。捐贈者可以瀏覽註冊表,並與我們聯繫從而捐贈物資。這樣,所有捐贈物品將被直接發給提交請求的人。

選定的學校可以成為我們“重點項目行動”的一員。我們會重點關注這所學校的籌款目標,並收集他們的註冊表中的所有的項目。如果學校是需要許多物品(運動器材、樂器、服裝、玩具、兒童讀物或教材),他們可以與我們聯繫,並申請成為我們的特殊項目。我們將在收到他們的請求後與他們取得聯繫。之後,我們將把學校的信息發布在我們網站的殊項目頁面和目註冊表頁面上。我們將集中我們的精力在籌款活動上,並且通過各種手段宣傳次學校,以確保完成學校的要求並在制定的時間內並將物資交付給次學校!

Our Partners

The Be Smart, Don’t Choke website has been able to partner with some extraordinary organizations.

Royal College (Canada)

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada is the home of specialty care in Canada, setting the standards for postgraduate medical education, supporting the continuing professional development of 47,000 specialist physicians, surgeons and Resident Affiliates, and supporting health system innovations nationwide.

Our mission is to improve the health and care of Canadians by leading in medical education, professional standards, physician competence and continuous enhancement of the health system.

St. John Ambulance

St. John Ambulance is a charity and international humanitarian organization dedicated to helping Canadians improve their health, safety and quality of life.

As Canada’s standard for excellence in first aid and CPR services since 1883, St. John Ambulance offers innovative programs and products to save lives at work, home, and play. With over 1200 volunteers contributing over 240,000 hours of unpaid community service a year in BC and Yukon, through programs such as emergency and medical first response, youth programs, and therapy dog services, St. John Ambulance is an integral part of the community.

BCIRPU

BCIRPU serves as a provincial ‘hub’ to provide research-based leadership and coordination to stakeholders in order to reduce the societal and economic burden of injury among all age groups in BC.

Located at BC Children’s Hospital BCIRPU is a core research program within Evidence to Innovation, Child & Family Research Institute. BCIRPU also serves as a training centre, as several staff at the Unit hold faculty appointments at the University of British Columbia. BCIRPU was established as a strategic entity, blending the need for research and evidence with best practices and the development of policies and programs to reduce injury in BC.

Key objectives include:

  • Reducing the burden of injury in BC.
  • Leading research and knowledge development.
  • Improving surveillance.
  • Guiding evidence-based prevention.
  • Supporting professionals and practitioners.
  • Providing awareness, education and public information.

Susy Safe

Susy Safe is a surveillance registry for food and non-food foreign bodies insertion, inhalation, aspiration or ingestion (corresponding to the International Classification of Disease ICD-9 930-939). Currently it has collected over 25,000 cases.

The main aims of the Susy Safe registry are to:

  • designate a risk-profile of products causing injuries (in order to develop a surveillance system identifying inappropriate product design or packaging, guarantee consumer safety by indicating hazardous products, provide comparative data on risk/benefits of hazardous products weighting acceptable risk versus the foreseen economic impact of recalling the product from the market);
  • analyze how socio-economic disparities affect the risk of FB injuries;
  • involve stakeholders in data collection and security surveillance.

Cases collected in the Susy Safe registry are anonymously reported from physicians, ORL experts, pneumologists.. using a standardized Web form. For every case, heterogeneous information is collected, regarding: children characteristics, injury circumstances, features of the foreign body, characteristics of the injury and hospitalization.

Parents, family members or child care workers who have observed a foreign body injury are invited to fill out the Foreign Body Injury Reporting Survey for Consumers (which takes a few minutes), enhancing the registry and taking a step forward the prevention of such injuries.

SafeFood4Children

Data from the Susy Safe registry have shown that food foreign bodies are those that cause injuries most ferquently. Particularly food bones, nuts and seeds, grains are those with the highest incidence (accounting for 32%, 22% and 21% respectively), but those that cause most severe injuries are meat, sweets and other food types sharing the same characteristics (consistency, shape, size). Additionally, about a half of injuries have occurred under adult supervision, showing lack of knowledge about hazardous food items.

The project consists on a series of short videos freely available on a dedicated website. In each video a specific topic regarding food choking injuries in children is addressed: epidemiology, children’s anatomy, obstruction’s mechanism and food preparation. Following the US and Canada guidelines for food preparation, videos provide basic information, explaining in a clear and as simple as possible manner how to prepare hazardous foods: with simple measures even the most dangerous foods can be safely consumed by children.

Each topic is presented by a field expert: a Professor of Biostatistics and Epidemiology, an ENT Doctor, a Pediatrician, a Researcher, a professional Chef de cuisine. Furthermore, people of different ethnic and social backgrounds (in many cases parents of young children) participated voluntarily to the realization of the videos. The videos are available in English, Italian, Spanish and Italian Sign Language and will be available in Portuguese, French, Arabic, Russian, Chinese and Japanese in order to reach as many people as possible.

YNOTFORTOTS

YNOTFORTOTS is a non-profit organization located in Vancouver, British Columbia with a goal to provide all children with the best opportunity to play, to learn and to grow. British Columbia has the highest child poverty rate in Canada, with 1 in 5 children considered statistically poor. Our aim is to have an impact in these children’s lives.

Our unique item registry and donation structure ensures all donated items go directly to the children who need it most. Schools and parents can request an item which we will add to our online item registry. Donors may browse the registry and contact us if they have items to donate. This way, all donated items will be directly delivered to the individual who submitted the request.

Selected schools can be part of our Special Projects Initiative in which we adopt a school and focus our fundraising goals to collect all items from their registry. If a school is in need of many items (athletic equipment, musical instruments, clothing, toys, children’s books or textbooks), they can contact us to be our special project. We will receive their request and get in contact with them. We will then post the school’s story on our special projects page and and item requests on our item registry page. We will focus our fundraising efforts on that school and advertise through various means to ensure that the items you requested for the school will be attained within their timeframe and delivered to their school!